Laptop Rebuild

I got a new 500 GB hard drive over the Christmas season and have installed it in my laptop computer. I considered going with Linux only but finally gave in and set aside a portion for Windows. I’m hoping some of the mythical stimulus money finally lands on a project I’m in line to work on that requires using a Windows only program.

Before installing the new drive I spent a few days archiving files to DVD. I’m getting ready to rebuild a server too so getting files from both computers took extra time.

Hard Drive Partitions

Hard Drive Partitions

This is how I partitioned my disk drive:

When I installed Windows Vista from the restore CD, this put two partitions on the disk.

  • /dev/sda1 – Toshiba System Volume with 1.6 GB NTFS
  • /dev/sda2 – SQ0046… Reduced to 60 GB NTFS Area for Windows OS and other programs

After getting Window installed I placed the Ubuntu 9.10 in the CD drive and rebooted. The installation procedure needs to know about how the disk drive will be used. I added the following partitions:

/dev/sda3 Remaining 439 GB partitioned as follows

  • /dev/sda5 – 32 GB Filesystem formatted as FAT32 mounted as /shared (I’m using this when my project files are supported by both Win and Linux OS)
  • /dev/sda6 – 4GB set up as Linux swap space
  • /dev/sda7 – Remaining 403 GB as Linux Ext4 file system mounted as /

About SomeoneKnows

(c) 2010 Vince Thompson
One Response

  1. Me, too. I got a 500 gb hard drive, because my 200 gb hard drive died.

Leave a Reply

